aurealis-awardThe Peacemaker: Book OnePeacemaker won an Aurealis Award for Best SF novel last night. It feels kind of surreal writing that… it was truly unexpected. It’s been hard slog the last few years, publishing is MEH, I’ve had a brush with breast cancer, my kids left home, some of my nearest and dearest have had terrible struggles, and other life dramas happened – we all have our stuff. So I’ve come to believe that when you get some good news in life you have to jump and sing and squeee and generally be a dork about it for a while. It’s good for the soul! So that’s what I’m doing today.

More than anything though, I want to use this space to thank a whole lot of people, starting with Margo Lanagan, my friend and extraordinary writer, who read my acceptance speech. Here it is:

I’m truly delighted that PEACEMAKER has been commended by the Aurealis judging panel. My dad brought me up on a diet of pulp Westerns and, eventually, I inherited his complete Zane Grey collection. For many years, I wanted to write my own version of a Western as a thank you to him, and because those stories were my first, intense fictional love. My sister still gets a kick out of telling people how at eight years of age I would only answer to the name of one of Zane Grey’s cowboys.

But writing a western, SF, paranormal mash-up is one thing. Publishing it is quite another. I’d like to thank Lee Harris, Marc Gascoigne, Caroline Lambe and everyone at Angry Robot for giving this story a chance when it was well outside the purview of most speculative publishers. I hope this award, in some small way, rewards them for the gift they bestowed on me. I’d also like to thank Tara Wynne, my long time agent and friend who supports whatever creative direction I take.

 Long live the Aurealis Awards and the community who celebrates them!

So that was the short thank you! Here is the longer one:

Thanks to Joey HiFi for a truly sensational cover; Mike Underwood for tireless promotion in the US; my family, Paul, Col, Nicci and Simon who have celebrated and encouraged me throughout my career, and remind me often to enjoy the moment and not always look ahead; to my staff here at MDPWeb (you know who you all are!), who are just the best bunch of people in the world, and continue to help me promote and celebrate reading and books; to some special writing people in my life: Trentonomicon, Paula Weston, Alisa Krasnostein, and Isobelle Carmody; to my sons who I love to the end of the universe and back; and to my partner, Nick, who has held my hand through all the bad times.

My win is your win.

Congrats to all the winners and the shorlistees — particularly Graham Storrs, whose arm I had to twist to even get him to send his stories out into the world. Australian spec fic is in great shape!

Marianne x


aurealis-awards-finalist-high-resJust popping in to say thanks to everyone who sent best wishes about PEACEMAKER making the Best SF Novel shortlist. As I said on FB,

“Hi Everyone, thanks for the lovely warm wishes on the Aurealis shortlisting. So amazing to see how the awards have grown and what intense competition there is in each category. Proud to be part of it! Congrats to all my fellow shortlisters and to everyone who was eligible this year. We are all contributing to the depth and quality of the world’s speculative fiction and that’s a good feeling.”

And now it’s probably a good time to let you all know that MYTHMAKER book #2 will be out in October this year.

Also, Supanova are rolling out their guest announcements for this year, and I’m very delighted to say that I will be appearing at the Gold Coast event. Thanks for having me back Supanova!

supanova 2015

In my excitement last night I neglected to say a few things. Below is the full list of winners from the Aurealis Awards. My dear friends Margo Lanagan, Richard Harland and Tansy Rayner Roberts are among them, which totally warms my heart; and am thrilled for Angie Slatter and Helen Merrick. Congrats to all the nominees and winners!

  • BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL: Transformation Space by Marianne de Pierres
  • BEST SCIENCE FICTION SHORT STORY: “The Heart of a Mouse” by K.J. Bishop
  • BEST FANTASY NOVEL: Power and Majesty by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • BEST FANTASY SHORT STORY [TIE]: “The February Dragon” by L.L. Hannett & Angela Slatter and “Yowie” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • BEST HORROR NOVEL: Madigan Mine by Kirstyn McDermott
  • BEST HORROR SHORT STORY: “The Fear” by Richard Harland
  • BEST ANTHOLOGY: Wings of Fire, Edited by Jonathan Strahan and Marianne S. Jablon
  • BEST COLLECTION: The Girl With No Hands by Angela Slatter
  • BEST ILLUSTRATED BOOK/GRAPHIC NOVEL: Changing Ways: Book 1 by Justin Randall
  • BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL: Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey
  • BEST YOUNG ADULT SHORT STORY: “A Thousand Flowers” by Margo Lanagan
  • BEST CHILDREN’S FICTION(told primarily through pictures): The Boy and the Toy, Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator)
  • BEST CHILDREN’S FICTION (told primarily through words): The Keepers, Lian Tanner

I also have some great pics from last night’s fundraiser.


davitt-award  aurealis-award   logo-curtin-university

Peacemaker - Aurealis Award
Best Science Fiction Novel 2014

Curtin University Distinguished Alumni Award 2014

Transformation Space - Aurealis Award
 Best Science Fiction Novel 2010

Sharp Shooter - Davitt Award
Best Crime Novel 2009 (Sisters in Crime Australia) 





Keep in contact through the following social networks or via RSS feed:

  • Follow on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on Pinterest
  • Follow on Google+
  • Follow on GoodReads
  • Follow on Tumblr
  • Follow on Flickr
  • Follow on YouTube